Halkon is Sale’s Greatest Bowler

Leg spinner Rick Halkon was named Sale’s greatest ever bowler at their end of season awards on Friday.  He topped the 1st XI bowling averages for a ninth time, passing the century old record of Sir Edwin Stockton.

Sir Edwin, also a leg spinner, was a well-known figure in the early twentieth century.  He topped the club averages 8 times between 1901 & 1909, was President of both Sale and Lancashire CCC and MP for Manchester Exchange.  The Manchester Association Championship was awarded in his name from 1920 until the leagues recent demise.  Sale were the first winners of his trophy in 1920, the Sale captain was Edwin's younger brother Albert.

Halkon’s league wicket haul of 589 is by far the biggest tally of any player who started after 1967; next best is Glyn Roberts on 432. These wickets have come at an outstanding Average of 15.77, Economy Rate (runs per 100 balls) of 48, and Strike Rate (balls per wicket) of 32.

His career league record is:  3200 Overs, 818 Maidens, 9,290 Runs, 589 Wickets, with a best bowling performance this season against Middlewich of 9 wickets for 32 runs, including a hat-trick.

He also holds two Cheshire County League divisional records; 79 wickets in division one (2011) and 42 wickets in Sunday division 3 (1999).

Sale celebrated winning five trophies in a remarkable season.  3rd XI Sunday division 1 East Champions, Over 40’s North East Champions, Under 16’s League and Cup winners, as well at division one player of the year (Tyrone Lawrence).

Individual winners on the night were:

Club Player of the Year (Peilober Family Trophy) – Tyrone Lawrence
Clubman Award (Eddie Harrop Memorial Plate) – George Franks
Young Player of Year – Sam Battersby
Most Improved Player (Alan Whitelegg Trophy) – Will Radcliffe
Under 18 Player of Year (Graham Watterson Trophy) – Joe Cannon

1st XI Player’s Player of Year – Tyrone Lawrence
2nd XI Player’s Player of Year – Dan Osborne
3rd XI Player’s Player of Year – Tom Riley
Over 40’s Player’s Player of Year – Mark Almond

Under 16’s Player of Year – Dan Osborne
Under 16’s Batting Award – Dan Osborne
Under 16’s Bowling Award – Gabe Smith
Under 16’s Fielder Award – Mal Clarke

Comments are closed.